top of page
  • Writer's pictureGlaiza Champion

Vampire Hunter D by Hideyuki Kikuchi: A Book Review

"Transient guests are we."

Doris Lang is in trouble. She has been preyed upon by a member of the Nobility - vampires that used to rule this post apocalyptic world of old robots and monsters. Not not only does she need to fight the Count that bit her, but she needs to face against the Count's daughter, a group of bandits with a beautiful but deadly leader, and her whole terrified village. Will Vampire Hunter D be enough to save her and her younger brother?

I don't know what I was expecting when I started this book, and I was pleasantly surprised by what I read. Not saying that the book was a happy, sunny one. Far from it, it's a dark world that Doris dwells in. Humans may have won the war against the vampires, but they are still terrified of the ones that they refer to now as nobles.

D is an interesting character for me, which is new because I don't usually enjoy the dark brooding characters all that much. But under all that serious, angst filled persona lies a... let's just say a potential for hilarity. Maybe it's just me - maybe other would not find it as funny as I do - but if I say anymore, it may count as a spoiler.

As for the other characters, the main ones held my interest, but I think I might just love how... extra Larmica is? After falling in love with the enemy, she sends him to certain death to see if he is worthy of her extra dramatic love? That for me is beautiful in a very hilarious way.

Anyway, I loved it and I look forward to the next book.


Rating: 5/5

0 comments
bottom of page