top of page
  • Writer's pictureGlaiza Champion

Domestic Life


I can't believe how domestic I've become.


Last weekend, my husband and I received a free food box from Blue Apron [a] courtesy of one of my friends who use it regularly [b]. Michael and I decided to get their White Cheddar Cheese Burger with Balsamic Glazed Onions and Roasted Potatoes recipe [c], as well as their Seared Salmon topped with Spicy Orange Salsa and Quinoa-Carrot Salad recipe [d],


Before I met Michael, the biggest cooking thing I've ever attempted was in high school when I tried preparing what the Filipinos called Corned Beef, but Americans mostly know as Hash Corned Beef. It was pretty much a failure and I never picked up a pan to cook again, except for like instant noodles.


But Michael enjoyed cooking and I enjoyed cooking with Michael. Mostly because he enjoys the hard stuff that I don't want to do, like pretty much all of chopping, dicing and washing of the dishes. Oh, what do I like to do? I like the mixing, stirring, flipping and basically anything that made me feel like either a mad scientist or fancy witch.


Last weekend's cooking projects made me feel so domestic and settled. One thing that I've made obvious in my life is that I've never really settled down in one place. The longest I've stayed in a country is 10 years, and only because I was a child [e]. As soon as I graduated from high school, I started moving from country to country. I'm not rich, not by any means, but I was resourceful - I found scholarships, student programs, and loopholes.


When I married Michael, I realized that I was finally close to a dream that I've always had: settling down, putting roots somewhere, having a place that's mine and mine alone. I was tired of the adventure of constant cultural training, of different languages, and transient lifestyle.


It was fun the first few years, but after a lifetime? I needed to plant myself down somewhere. Michael gave me that opportunity and I have never been happier.


Do I miss it? Sometimes - I miss the countries I've lived in, but I never want to see packed boxes and suitcases meant to move to a different country. I never want to apply for visas, crossing my fingers, hoping they'll extend my stay.


I want a home.


And I've finally found it.


***


Footnotes:

a. I'm honestly not being paid for this at all. My blog isn't popular enough for that, sadly.

b. Apparently, when you use Blue Apron enough you can get codes to give a free box to your friends and if they sign up you get like $30 off your next meal.

c. Which isn't pictured.

d. Which is.

e. Even then, we moved from house to house almost every year. So I never had a childhood home, not really.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page