top of page
  • Writer's pictureGlaiza Champion

Speaking of Tsundere


I love Pride and Prejudice [a].


It's the only classic book I've read more than once, and is the only one I'd read and watch all iterations of [b]. I love the main characters, especially Lizzie and Mr. Darcy.


Having said that, I would never, ever fall for a Mr. Darcy.


Mr. Darcy is the type of guy who you have to really spend time getting to know before you can see his good qualities, and as far as first impressions go? His sucks. As the story progresses, the reader realizes that he has a heart under all that prickly-cactus mess of grump-pants. You realize that he makes mistakes - like we all do - and it makes him human.


His pride and prejudice slowly melts away to leave a heart of gold with good intentions.


As a reader, I was given enough time to get to know Mr. Darcy and end up caring about the guy and his happiness.


However, if I met someone, in real life, who told treated me terribly before he had the chance to even get to know me. Who went out of his way to separate my sister from her boyfriend who was this man's best friend, only because he did not approve of my family. Who attempts to propose to me "against his better judgement" and expects me to swoon?


Ain't no one got time for that.


Herein lies the difference, my ability to like a character in spite of their crappy personality should not mean that I enjoy being around people who have that same personality.


Just because I love Moriarty and Sherlock from BBC's Sherlock does not mean that if I ever meet people who are exactly like them in person, I wouldn't run away screaming.


People are allowed to like compelling characters with very obvious flaws and weaknesses, without others judging them for enjoying it because it does not automatically mean that these people would tolerate that kind of behavior from the people in their lives.


Having said all that: I hate Sasuke [c] with a passion of a thousand suns.


***

Footnotes:

a. The book by Jane Austen and not the attitudes.

b. See: Pride, Prejudice and Zombies.

c. From Naruto.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page